The government of Russia approved the list of countries unfriendly to Russia

The list includes 48 states and territories:

  • Australia,
  • Albania,
  • Andorra,
  • Great Britain,
  • The EU
  • Iceland,
  • Canada,
  • Liechtenstein,
  • Micronesia,
  • Monaco,
  • New Zealand,
  • Norway,
  • The Republic of Korea,
  • San Marino,
  • North Macedonia,
  • Singapore,
  • USA,
  • Taiwan (China),
  • Ukraine,
  • Montenegro,
  • Switzerland,
  • Japan

The EU includes: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Hungary, Germany, Greece, Denmark, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, France , Croatia, Czech Republic, Sweden and Estonia.

The order was prepared as part of the Decree of the President of March 5, 2022 On the temporary procedure for fulfilling obligations to certain foreign creditors.

According to the document, the state, Russian citizens and companies that have foreign currency obligations to foreign creditors from the list of unfriendly countries will be able to pay them in rubles.

Such obligations can be used in Russian rubles by transfers of Russian rubles to special ruble accounts «C» opened in the name of a foreign creditor in a Russian bank. The procedure for opening such accounts will be determined by the decision of the Central Bank.

The new procedure will affect only the obligations of a resident in the amount exceeding 10 million rubles per calendar month (or the specified amount in currency equivalent).